mcsteatlh

Just wishing I guess. I seems that 2+1 seating set up would be ideal for my mission profile. I mean it is either a one place, two place, or four. Right? 70% of the time, I see myself needing two places, and the rest of the time, just three. I'm no designer or marketer, but I see the two place-four place argument so many times, it seems to me, what a lot of people really want are three seats. But what do I know?!

McStealth

Is the 3rd one small?

If the 3rd passenger is a small child, plenty of side-by-side RV builders install a seat for them in the baggage compartment.

Stretch-9

Hopefully if there are enough of us expressing interest... maybe this will be the next RV. I, and others have posted this before. While I realize that most of the time we only fly with 1 or 2 - and for most of the RVers out there this is fine. However, for me, there are times when I need a back seat. Or how many times do you wish you had a bit more baggage room? How many threads have there been on this or other websites addressing squeezing in folding bikes? ;) I've heard the argument that you can rent a spam can for those other flights. But frankly - my options for rentals are a couple of very tired C-172's. Having something better than a spam-can is why RV's are built.

Currently the only option for those that want a little more room than a 7/9 is an RV10. It is reportedly a wonderful plane - but building it and obtaining an O-540 is frankly quite a bit more expensive than the 7/9 series.

I think there is a market for a "Stretch-9". A "2+2". Something smaller than an RV-10. O-360 powered with either a slider or tilt-up canopy.

Does anyone have pics of a rear seat mod in a side-by-side RV? I'm concerned about restraining my little one properly but she's at the age where she has to be moving alllllll the time (2 yo).