DakotaHawk

Well Known Member
Back in 2006, I had an epiphany.

I decided that it was time to build another airplane.

My home doesn't have a garage, so I built a 24' x 30' shop in my backyard. I insulated the walls, ran power everywhere. Built in a deep sink with running water. Installed a refridgerator, stereo, garage door, air compressor with plumbed air lines...

And I built an airplane --- An RV-7. It took me three and a half years from opening the empennage crate to first flight. I spent every evening after work in my shop. I spent weekends in my shop. I listened to the radio. I studied plans. My family came out to visit me.

But now my plane is complete. It's got it's own home at the airport. And I have no reason to go out to my shop.:(

My friend is storing an RV-3 in there. I think he's selling it, but that could change. Another friend is storing a Tri-Pacer wing in my shop that needs to be re-covered. He's pretty busy and needs to get his priorities straight!

So my shop sits quietly collecting dust. I go out there once in awhile, but I feel lost and without purpose when I look at the vast, empty space that used to house my project.

Once in a while, I fire up the compressor to air up the lawn mower tires, but the pressure in the tank bleeds down long before I'll get out to the shop again.

I miss my shop...

Time to head down to the hangar!:D

If your buddies RV-3 really is for sale, offer him something, its already waiting for you to work on it!!!

After building my last airplane, I started working on this!
Garage001.jpg

Last edited:
Shop

snif...if only I had a shop to miss...snif. One of these days however...and it's Katie bar the door!

Looks like there is a 3 in your future. Have fun getting re-acquainted with the tools.