rv8_builder

I am new to airplane building and started the horizontal stabilizer with great enthusiasm this weekend.

That is until I made the first mistake on HS 404 ? I overlooked the part in the manual that states ?make a left hand and right hand? when cutting out the nose ribs! :mad:

I drilled holes in the corner of each cutout to make a radius in that area. Only after drilling the holes I realized that I had made two left hand ribs. Fortunately I could partially correct my mistake by drilling two new holes offset the other way, before cutting out the corners.

I now have an additional hole in the right hand rib.

Can I use this rib or do I need to replace it :confused:

hs404.jpg

That looks like a prime spot for a possible crack (very close to the edge and bend). I'd either trim the rib some more or even better, order a new one. They are not expensive and you'd have the piece of mind.

Or just extend the cutaway to that hole. The flange against the front HS spar will be slightly shorter than it would have been per plans, but as long as you have have the same # of fasteners and you satisfy minimum edge distance & pitch requirements, I don't think it would be an issue (keep in mind this is "armchair engineering" at work here). Call Van's if you're unsure.

I'm not familiar enough with the latest kits to know if the in-spar rib (the one that goes between front & rear spars) has a pre-punched flange there. If it does, then you might be looking at replacing that nose rib. If it doesn't, then you should be ok.