Rick of Austin

Well Known Member
It really makes me cringe to step on the beautiful leather seats while climbing in. Even using a towel to prevent getting them dirty doesnt keep from squishing the seat cushion and its only a matter of time before the temperfoam breaks down.
Do some of you have a stepping pad built into a center console?
Thanks

I've been flying mine for 10 years, stepping on the cushion every time I get in and out. I used a towel for the first 6 months, then said "to heck with that", and now step directly on the fabric. The fabric isn't damaged/soiled, and the temperfoam is like new.

At this rate, I'll wear out before the seats do. (I'm 46).

I have cloth seats and step on them every time I get in or out of the airplane since day one. After almost 13.5 years of flying and over 2,470 hours, they still look good. They have only been cleaned once in that time. Yes the part I step on is a DARK color. Stepping on the seats is part of what is needed to get in and out of the airplane. No big deal. I recommend not worrying about it. IF you get any wear, it is part of the character of the airplane.

From Rosie: What Gary Said: ditto.
From Iron: What Gary Said: ditto.;)

Last edited by a moderator:
Folded, color coordinated towels........all the time. But other than that, it's stepping on the leather seats.

L.Adamson --- RV6A

If the grass is wet, I take off one shoe, step up on the wing, put the shoe in an old pillow case, put the other shoe in the case, toss them in the baggage compartment, step in the plane, and fly in my socks.

Lift the front of the cushion up and straddle the stick, scoot down as you push the cushion back down. My 81 year old Dad can do it no problem. Standing on the cushion with snow on your feet gives you a wet bum.

I also keep a rag in the cockpit for wiping off wet grass from shoes before entering. The grass blows off the wing after engine start and take-off.