Flyguytki

Well Known Member
Hey Guys,
So heres my problem, these forums have become my favorite site on the internet and I enjoy reading on everyones progress on there fabrications. I am currently a student at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Daytona Beach and am also in Army ROTC so there is'nt much time to do much of anything after school. I have a real passion for hands on work and cant wait until im fortunate enough to start building my own RV. Being in School I don't have too much room and of course not the money to start construction just yet, So my question is what are yall's suggestions on how I can get started with small projects and such to work my way up to eventually a tail kit. Is there anyone from this area who is in the middle of construction and would'nt mind an extra set of hand? I have alot of experience working on aircraft such as cubs and Pitts but not much with aluminum. So sorry to drag this out but I'm just trying to find a way to get my hands dirty with the construction of my own RV so any of your ideas/ comments would be great.

Thanks alot,
David
(I'm will also be going home to Mckinney Tx for the holiday so the same offer goes out to anyone in that area as well)

Hey David!

David,

You've definitely come to the right place. VAF is THE definitive site for RV'ers.

I started my RV4 when I was a 2nd lieutenant in the USAF (did AFROTC myself) Renting a house got me a garage to build in, thankfully my landlord let me do it. I'm assuming you at least have a garage to work in. That's how many, if not most, of these airplanes get done.

You can start for very little money by getting a preview plans kit for around $55.00 from Vans. Study it thoroughly, and find a few RV builder/flyers around where you live. I got started literally the night I found out about RV's after attending my first chapter meeting in Enid, OK. An RV6 builder there invited me over, and I got my first hands-on experience that night!