ArVeeNiner

Well Known Member
I am a novice when it comes to fiberglass. The only fiberglassing I've even done was plugging up the HS and elevator a couple of years ago.

So, I cut out the oil door opening of my SJ cowl (see pictures below). I think the Van's supplies you with a seperate oil door for their cowls but not on the SJ. The piece you cut out IS the oil door. Anyway, I used a hack saw blade and a coping saw blade as per the directions. I haven't cleaned up the cuts much at all since my rough cuts last night.

So, I want to obviously round out the corners and make the cuts straight. Of course, that would make the gaps between the door and the cutout unacceptably large.

My question is how do I build edges back up so that I can make a nice fit? Is thickened epoxy enough to build up the edges? I'm thinking for instance in the corners, place tape on the outside of the cowl then place a glob of thickened epoxy inside. After curing I could sand it all to my liking. Will this work or am I asking for the edges to break off someday?

Thanks

cimg2069c.jpg

cimg2068.jpg

cimg2067z.jpg

cimg2067.jpg

cimg2066.jpg

cimg2065l.jpg

Last edited:
You *could* try to salvage that thing, but it'd probably be more work than just laying up a whole new thing on top of it...

What I did (too late for you) was to lay up a section on top of that area, before cutting the opening.. (oversize the layup).. then cut it out.. and make a whole new door out of this layup I did before the cutting.

You could probably still do something like that.. I'd say.. Cover the opening with tape (so the f'glass doesn't sag) and lay up a whole new part.. I'd do 4-5 layers.. (I did more and it's simply not necessary and makes the part too thick)...