JohnBabrick

I'm New Here
Hello all,

I have just purchased a new house in Michigan. We will have seven acres and the lot dimensions are such that I would have about an 800 foot stretch that I could conceivably put a landing strip on. Further, I *might* be able to get the neighbor farmer to rent me a strip of his land that would allow me another few hundred feet. My question is, how much land do I need to take off and land an RV-7A?

Some additional information: I am a low time new pilot. I will get transition training before flying. I will be doing all the flight testing from a regular airport and would not be attempting any such short landings or take offs until I had plenty of experience. I plan on putting a 200 hp engine and a constant speed prop on the airplane. The proposed strip has some tall trees around it in some directions, but is otherwise surrounded by a golf course and farm fields. Directly beyond the trees are driving ranges that are lined up with the runway, so an engine out would involve flying straight ahead for open fields.

I didn't buy the house expecting to use it as a runway, but if I could then I'd like to know about how practical it might or might not be.

Opinions and advice please?

John Babrick
RV-7A QB (empennage)
Shelbyville MI

If my memory is correct, Van used to fly out of a strip at his place that was 600'. long, and designed his a/c to be usable there.

Winds, and obstructions must be taken into account though, not just length.

Hope this helps to answer your question.

Mike

Very few times I've been able to land and exit at the 500ft. mark. on a paved runway.

I'd burn up all that 800 ft. if it were me. I seem to normally like 1000ft. to 1300ft. to land. I'd want a 1300ft. runway min., personally.

Taking off--- I'd say 700ft. is comfortable.

YMMV skill level etc.

Build that runway!!!

Last edited:
JohnBabrick said:
Hello all,