aparchment

Well Known Member
Okay guys, I spent about half an hour on edge finishing the VS rear spar doubler this evening and on the HS it took me about an hour to edge finish and polish the surfaces. I am taking to heart the Van's instructions that I remove all saw marks and evidence of cutting. Am I going overboard? I just don't want to spend all of this time building a plane only to have to deal with crack after crack. Suggestions?

Antony
(newbie 7A builder)

*Disclaimer:

This is purely my observations from my three years as an A&P, I have no experience with building and not much maintaining RV's.

From what I have seen as far as aluminum cracking, you'll need a combination of a stress riser AND strain on the piece. To elimnate stress risers, debur and polish the edges. But don't go overboard, polishing is one thing, but removing ALL tooling scratches might be a bit overboard. To eliminate stress, make sure all your holes are lined up before you rivet. You'll always have some parts that won't be perfect, but do the best you can. Also don't try to build your tolerences too close. They are called tolerences for a reason :). I have not seen much skin cracking in my time as an A&P, spars and ribs are more critical, so be more careful deburring them, but again, sharp edges should be polished, but don't worry so much about removing so much as radiusing tool marks.

It's kind of hard to explain what I'm getting at without demonstrating in person... oh well, I tried.