humptybump

Well Known Member
There have been a number of threads asking "what size tablet should I get?"

I just encountered an interesting "problem".

I have a 16GB model. While I don't do a lot of crisscrossing the country, I like having all of the CONOS charts because I often practice flight plans and weather understanding by planning the trips by others here on VAF. I am a VFR pilot but k ow its helpful to see how my flight plan interacts with IFR flights so I typically cross check my roughy with low level IFR charts.

The great thing about a tablet is you actually can have ALL of the charts you may possibly need for a trip - any trip.

All of the above (from Foreflight) will fit on a 16GB tablet as long as there is not much else installed.

All of the above WILL NOT FIT on a 16GB tablet during the transition between chart periods.

All of this assumes you are not loading other things - useful things - like the FAR/AIM, or the operations manuals for your avionics, or issues of Kitplanes, or tutorials, or photos, or videos, etc.

Yes, you can select a subset of charts. You can manually delete the "almost expired charts" and manually download the new ones. You can do a number of things. Unfortunately, you can not add memory to an iPad. Many Android tablets have the ability to add memory.

Different Apps have different storage requirements. I have not tested Garmin Pilot or Wing X (I will be testing Garmin soon.) I also have not tested any Android devices.

Conclusion: if you want an iPad with Foreflight, you might as well plan for 32GB as your minimum. You can "manage" with less memory but I found its not with the initial savings.

I agree with you about the memory. I just purchased an IPad mini and opted for the 32 GB model.

I have loaded both Foreflight And WingXpro for evaluation. WingX has only the eastern database. I think Foreflight just has Florida. I put all my equipment docs and POH on the IPad.