60Bubba

So I'm looking forward to getting back to SoCal and bribing my way into an RV for a ride, but until then I have a general sort of question. I am a 1000+ hour pilot, so some might say I have a pretty good experience base. Trouble is, about 850 of those hours have been in airplanes with wings that spin around my head. Good practice for comms, navigation, and headwork, but not necessarily too helpful for fixed wing stick and rudder skills.

I'm planning to buy or build early next year, and I'm wondering how difficult to fly these things really are. I keep reading how slippery they are, and how it's easy to get behind them. I've recently gotten refresher training in Pipers and Cessnas, but those don't really compare.

Does anyone here have any T-34C experience? I'm wondering how the RV-6/7/8 would compare. I got about 95 hours in the Tormentor in Navy Primary flight training, so I figure that is probably my best frame of reference. If I remember, we flew patterns about 100KIAS, and full flap landings were 85KIAS. I believe this landing speed is higher than the RV's??

I'm leaning toward a taildragger, so obviously that will require some specialized training, but overall I'm just wondering how pattern work will compare to my turbine T-34 time. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Case

Case,

I'm a fellow Navy helo bubba, just came from T-34 land down in Corpus as an IP and I have an RV-7 with roughly 800hrs on it, so I can answer your question.