prkaye

Well Known Member
I got my tachometer transducer from Vans. It didn't come with any directions. The first photo shows the transducer which has an AN style fitting with some kind of circular insert. It also came with a rubber washer. The second photo shows a fitting on my engine directly above my oil filter, that I assume this connects to. The fitting on the engine has a similar circular part inside.

1) Is it just a matter of putting the rubber washer in the fitting and tightening it on to the engine, or is there some procedure for engaging the center portions?

2) How does this thing work? I assume this thing gets spun, but I don't see how the spinning parts would get locked together... just through friction against the rubber washer (i.e. the washer is sandwiched between the two circular parts, so that when one spins the washer prevents slipping and so causes the other to spin with it) ?

I've never used one of those before Phil, so I am equally puzzled - sure seems like you're missing a piece!

There is a "spaded tang" that transfers motion from the engine to the hall effect module. I'll see if I can find a picture of one.

That one looks a little different from the one I've used, but I'd guess the principal is the same.

Look carefully through the packaging and see if there is a small key. It is a rectangular bar with a cross section maybe 1/8" square and about 3/4" long.

I can't tell from your picture but I assume there is a small square hole on the center of the spinning element on the sender to accept the key. It will correspond to an identical hole on the engine's tach drive. The key is a slip fit and doesn't attach to either side so it's easy to lose.

Phil,

You are missing the KEY. It was in the box. Looks like a broken
arrow or broken cable drive about 4" long.
I had to order the extension on mine because of the oil filter
and SD-20 that I will put on later.

Hope it helps.

Found the key! Thanks guys.