RV4Gregg

I'm New Here
Hello!

I am setting up my shop for future arrival of RV4 pieces. I have a small pancake air compressor, but realize that it is insufficient, when tasked with repeatedly bangin' rivets...

Anyone have suggestions on air compressors? I am looking at the 60 gallon, 3.2hp stand up that Sears Craftsman makes.

I have lots of sheet metal experience, but I have always worked in a production type environment, with MASSIVE compressors. I would really appreciate some insight, to get me with the right a/c.

Thanks!

Gregg

I have really enjoyed my 60gal. stand up Ingersoll Rand in my garage. It runs rarely, even with heavy consumers.

Comressor recomendation

OK, get ready..
This is one of those posts that draws a ton of comments! I built my -4 and and do a LOT of metal work on G/A birds in cluding painting...I have your basic 5hp Ingersol,60gal. configuration. You can get the same basic product at any Home Depot or Lowes aviation improvement center for $500 or less..It will be ALL YOU NEED and some. A die grinder/sander will draw the highest CFM, and will do fine.The rivet gun and drill dont use much air at all. The biggest recomendation I can give to you is put it outside or somewhere away from your shop if possible and run 1/2" PVC to your work area. Mine is in my garage on the otherside of my hangar (airpark hangar house) and I cant hear it at all. I actually had it in my attic above my garage in my old house. You will love the peace and quiet even know it doesnt run that hard...good luck!

Bill E.
RV-4 paint prep