morganjp

Well Known Member
I have an RV6A that I have been flying for 2 years. It has a persistant slow oil leak that only shows up after at least a half hour of flight at high RPM. In other words enough time to spread the oil dye all over the engine. It will lose about 1 qt every 5 hours. It doesn't affect the performance but I am really tired of wiping off the belly. The leak is only on the right side of the engine and is mostly on the top front and rear baffles. It collects on top of carb heat box. Also I have oil coming out on the right side of the aircraft where the upper and lower cowl are joined,

Engine Lycoming O360-A3A carburated

This is where it isn't.

1, crank seal replaced and is dry.
2. oil sump gasket replaced
3. oil filler tube gasket replaced
4. no oil coming from breather tube.
5. cylinder cover gaskets all replaced

If anyone else has experienced this and has a possible anser then I would love to hear from you.

Merry Christmas;

John Morgan

I am not an engine expert so use caution. Perhaps it is coming from the case seal (lengthwise). I saw one engine where a poor seal around a case bolt internally showed up outside.

Perhaps you should clean the engine then run it just a few minutes on the ground and use an UV light to try to find the source.

I don't recall the cylinder base to case seal method but that may be work checking. Obviously any bolt or mating surface needs to be considered suspect until you find the leak.

Last edited:
Big leaks like that are usually relatively easy to find, its the small ones that are tough. Clean and dry the engine thoroughly, ground run it for 5 to 10 minutes or until nice and warm then inspect. Shouldn't be that difficult to locate leaking that much.

that's a really big leak

I know you think it's all a leak but IMHO if your were to pour a quart of oil over your airplane you will have oil dripping everywhere.

Are you sure you're not seeing a very slight leak and are burning or throwing a bunch of oil.