Greetings RV Gents: I'm looking for some direction from Canadian RV builders with respect to mdra inspection requests/requirements. In speaking to an inspector lately, I was informed that I would have to leave certain portions of the project ( RV8 tail kit at this point) open or unfinished so it could be easily inspected or be prepared to drill out rivets to allow access.I just finished riveting the rear spar of the horizontal stab and am ready to rivet in the ribs and fwd spar as per plan direction. The inspector says leave the rear spar out (unrivited-maybe clecoed) of the assembly so he can easily look inside as well as the large center end rib and then finish riveting after inspection. This is not the way Vans calls out the sequence of events but in speaking to them they say its doable. I'm new to metal planes (I've restored a Champ) but I thought the idea was to follow the manufacturers instructions. I know on my previous project I had to show the inspector that the manufacturer had proven and used some of my incorporated updates--then there was no problem.Can any of you fellows who built in Canada help me out. What did you do to help keep mdra happy on your inspections---mainly the tail kit(for now). I'm also not comfortable leaving stuff half finished and starting something else..thats a recipe for mistakes. This post is not meant to knock the inspector...I've met him and he's seems OK.
Sincerely Mark.s.--Ontario flyer.

What I did was leave the HS spar unriveted, and one skin unriveted or partially riveted on the elevators and rudder. They stayed that way until I called for a pre-close inspection on the wings and fuselage, so they were stored a long time partially completed.

Remember not to rivet in the fuselage floorboards until after final inspection.

Use your common sense-- if you can't inspect all of the rivets and fasteners, then the MDRA rep can't either. Once they assess your handiwork, they trust you to do more good riveting to finish up.