jeffmoreau

Well Known Member
I am in the process of installing my 5 point Hooker Harness set in my RV8-A.

The problem area is where the pilot lap belts are inserted through the pilot seatback. I can route them through, however the attachment tang of the belt doesn't fit through the opening very well.

The webbing of the belt chafes against the opening. Does anyone have a suggestion on how to improve the fit.

Please show me photos of what you have done. As always, any help and photos are greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Afraid I can't be of any help, but you deserve the best thread title of the year award.

nothing sacred about the size of those openings..I enlarged them about 1/4" to provide plenty of clearance.

Jeff, as a retired police officer I have to warn you that I think Doug has some rules against illegal activity on his site. :D

Hookers

How to keep a straight face and answer the question:D

The hookers in my 7 required a little metal work as well. How can I say that without getting edited? Had to make the elongated holes larger and smoother so the fabric wouldn't chafe:eek:

There, I hope that helps.

Any Photos??

Does anyone have photos of their lapbelt installation in an RV8 or 8A?

I would really appreciate it.

Pictures

Jeff, I'd be happy to take some pictures of my Hookers tomorrow for you. I don't have any chafing problems that I'm aware of. Maybe I should check them out tomorrow and look for signs of chafing. I suppose that's something that we should all do with our Hookers. I would hate for my seats to end up with any scratches, tears or defects (STDs).

I suppose one could just slip a latex sleeve of some sort over the belt to prevent the chafing and STDs. Just a suggestion ...

I'll take pics tomorrow for you.

:D

Belts and leather

I don't have an -8, but the seat backs in the side by side models chews on the lap belts. I wrapped the belts in leather in the wear areas, and am happy with the results after 4 or 5 years.