lndwarrior

Well Known Member
Newly complete with only 2 hours of taxiing on the Hobbs. Lycoming O-235 engine, Brand new B&C 40 amp alternator, VR 166 external voltage regulator, 40 amp ammeter shunt wired to an ammeter gauge on the panel.

My wiring diagram is a almost direct copy of Bob Nichols Z-11 diagram.

Engine starts and runs fine.

Ammeter reads 0 at all times, even with the engine running AND when I pull the Alt. field circuit breaker.

While I put the "copied" wiring diagram together and installed the system - I am really a complete newbie to wiring issues.

I simply don't know where to begin to trouble shoot this problem.

I've done some research online and comments like "test the vr" or "test the alternator" or test the field wire. My problem is I just don't know HOW to do this.

I'm afraid I'll fry something if I test it wrong.

I would really appreciate any help - with very simple explanations of how to trouble shoot this problem.

TIA
Gary

First find out if the alternator is doing anything. Put a multimeter (Harbor Freight $3.99 type is fine) across the battery. You should read 12.4vdc or so with the engine off, 14.1vdc or so with the engine on. If this is what you have, then your amp meter is not working or not connected properly. If the battery voltage stays at 12.4vdc or so with the engine running, you have not wired the alternator and/or voltage regular correctly.

Carl

First find out if the alternator is doing anything. Put a multimeter (Harbor Freight $3.99 type is fine) across the battery. You should read 12.4vdc or so with the engine off, 14.1vdc or so with the engine on. If this is what you have, then your amp meter is not working or not connected properly. If the battery voltage stays at 12.4vdc or so with the engine running, you have not wired the alternator and/or voltage regular correctly.

Carl

Thanks for the reply.