wellsheit

I'm New Here
I've been lurking here a little bit lately trying to familiarize myself with the RV some more. My first post. I'll give you a quick rundown on where I'm at in my aviation career so hopefully you'll see my interest in an RV.

I'm a student pilot. Over 40 hours. Its been a slow process, but I'm nearly there. Right now I'm young and single, so I'm thinking now may be the best time ever to build a plane. I'm a pretty big fella (6'2", 230# if the moon's gravity is in my favor). I already know I'll never be happy owning a 172. The plan is to have a shop built first quarter of next year. That will give me plenty of space to start my project.

An engineer I work with pretty much custom built a KR2S, and while that plane is amazingly fun and efficient, I just don't think that platform is near big enough for my size, even if I stretch it every which direction, regardless of how the price tag is.

So that has led me here. I've read several different opinions on the RV-8 and RV-4. Sounds to me like the RV-8 would be more suitable to my needs. I love the tandem setup and feel like that would be the most roomy and exciting way to fly. Mostly just joy flying of course, but I will do some healthy cross country's. Obviously my time frame on an airplane is years. They don't come cheap!

I am interested in any opinions on the best way to get into an RV. The quick build kits, I see are ~30k. So with that kit, what would you end up with in a plane coming out on the other side w/ say an uncertified IO-360 or something similar.

Anywho, thanks for the site. I'll keep lurking and trying to learn as we go.

Welcome to VAF!!!!

Brad, welcome to VAF.

Good idea, asking your questions here, you will get lots of good info to help you. Probably a few offers of a ride too, if I may be allowed to predict the future.:rolleyes:

In my not so humble opinion, the 8 will be a great plane for you, quite roomy and there is a tall pilot option available.

Hang on, enjoy the ride.:D