fatherson

Well Known Member
Hello!

I'm a 44-yo under-employed software engineer,
so I can't really afford to be here; but,

and I can't really afford NOT to be here.

Last month, during an 80-mile hike on the John Muir Trail in the Sierra Nevada's, my youngest son started asking lots of questions about my flying days. Tyson was turning 12 on the trail, and we had already discussed his desire to join Civil Air Patrol once we returned.

CAP had paid for a large portion of my Private cert when I was 17. I'm still a very-low-time pilot (about 120 TT, most in 172's), and I haven't flown in over 25 years. Still, Tyson seemed fascinated at my stories: airshows, fly-ins, under-wing camping along the California coast, working a fuel truck a few summers at Nut Tree airport in Vacaville.

But his excitement cranked up a few notches when I told him about the BD-5 my friends' father was building in his garage (late 1970's). Tyson's always been a bit of a builder, and he insisted we find out more about the current state of home-building as soon as we got home.

It didn't take long for me to find Van's Aircraft. I learned, as you all know, that the performance:value ratio makes these planes irresistible. I was sold on the plane long before I started lurking here in the VAF Forums.

But after a few hundred hours of reading the archives here, I must say the straw that broke my back was the rich culture you all have built up in this Van's Community. Sure, the usually disagreements and flames peek out occasionally, but I've been online since the Arpanet (that's the pre-cursor to the Internet), and I've never seen a group more consistently friendly, helpful, supportive, and caring toward one another.