Echo Tango

Well Known Member
I work at a small-ish approach control in MI (for another week :D) and I have to ask, what's with all of the (50% or more) /G (gps equipment suffix) aircraft flying V-routes :confused:

Correct me if I'm wrong, but radar monitoring is an approved means of secondary navigation. If you've been radar ID'd by ATC, why not just go D-> ?

I am no expert, and usually go direct by the way, but the V routes typically are the most direct route with the least amount of exposure to terrain, MOA's, etc....
I rarely fly them, but always look at the V routes when I am flight planning. I figure somebody figured them out for a reason ( I think they date back to the USPS for mail carrying. )

As former ATC, I too also have asked that question as well. I think the answer is that it depends. Most of it depends on preffered routing in congested areas.

I can file OSU > LUK and get that route. I filed the return as LUK > OSU, but I got something back like LUK > CVG > Vxxx ..... It took me ten minutes to look up all the way points to program into the 430 when I got my clearance. I never flew that routing. I basically got vectors towards the north, then direct. Plus I can't image that they really wanted me over CVG.

I've flown to Lousiana and back using all direct waypoints. I got diverted to a airway south of Birmingham to avoid some ground fires, but after 10 minutes got cleared direct again.

I've flown to OSH via direct routes, except when crossing Lake Michigan.

I've been told that in certain parts of the northeast, all you are going to get in certain areas are airways due to congestion and preffered routing.

That's one reason why I'm installing a 650 in my RV-10. Rubber banding an airway is so much nicer than programming all those way points on a 430.

Why do you Have to ask?