Geico266

Well Known Member
Okay guys, what is the best and fastest way to identify hardware called out in the prints? I use the Aircraft Standards book, and it is worthless. Most of the hardware called out in today's Van's prints are up to date specificed hardware and the stuff is the book is for WWI.

Specifically, how do I find out what the heck a 5702-75-60 is?

How about a MS21083-N3?

Where do I find the info?

I have no experience with the RV-12, but even with the RV-7A I found that it sometimes takes a little sleuthing.

The Standard Aircraft Handbook still contains a lot of useful and relevant information. The difficulty you encountered though is that much of the hardware that was previously described by AN specs is now referred to (or superseded by) MS or AS specs. So you'll sometimes need to figure out what corresponds to what. But for the most part, the actual hardware hasn't really changed for our purposes.

The suggestion to search Van's list is a good one. Also, you can use the search utilities at online parts stores such as Aircraft Spruce, Wicks, Chief, GAHco, etc. And often times even a simple Google search will yield useful results. A Google search on each of the parts you specifically asked about yields the answers on the first hit.

Thanks for the replies guys, I wonder why they supply an outdated book with the kit. Seems to me if a part was superceeded by another the newest revision of the Aircraft Standards book would have it.

If Van's now supplies any such book with the kits, that's news to me. Van's used to provide a list of recommended books, but none were actually included as a part of the kit.