LAMPSguy

Well Known Member
I am new to this aircraft hardware language. My inventory revealed some hardware shortages (as well as instructions...how do I build this thing!?!?). I know there are some missing, but I don't know what is.

I made a PDF with the parts laid out and with "X" over what I know what it was called. If anyone with experience could spare a minute, I could use some help identifying what I have and don't have.

The PDF is located on my build site here.

Also, in one of the clear plastic bags, I may have another problem. The bag and the paper inventory differ. I counted the smaller washers=59. So, are the 55 and the 4 parts VERY similar and maybe in there and I counted 4 of the "washer 5702-475-48" as part of the 55?
308h1g2.jpg

OOppps

Also note on the PDF that the parts list calls the bag "3010-1" but my bag is listed as "3010"

Hey Nick, since you are admittedly new to aircraft hardware, you need to find a copy of the little black book called something like "The Mechanics reference guide" (something like that). It lists the details of all the AN and MS hardware. This will greatly help you in learning what's what, and how to identify stuff. I still look at mine after 40 years of doing this....

Paul

There is a hardware company, Gmco (ed. GAHCo, thanks Greg ...), or something like that, who posts here occasionaly about all kinds of aviation hardware and some unique bits and pieces. They will send you the little book Paul is speaking of, or thier copy or version of it. Very handy. I will look at my book tonight and get you the contact if somebody does not chime in first.

Also, AC-43-13-1b is a required referrence in my mind. It is downloadable as a PDF just do a quick internet search. It has a chapter dedicated to hardware and hardware identification.

I believe those washers missing are the large washer's that go with the rod end hardware to keep the rod end on the bolt should the inside come apart.

Last edited: