Lionclaw

Well Known Member
We've had a cold week here in Dayton, and it's getting uncomfortable working in my unheated and uninsulated hangar. I'm considering sealing up the top of the hangar with plastic sheeting and getting a high output propane heater (50k+ btu). The heaters all say they are for outdoor use. Is it something I can safely use in the hangar? Does anyone have any recommendations?

Works for me!

Andy,
I have been using a propane catalytic heater in my hangar for years. These heaters burn very clean, and if there will be sufficient fresh air coming in, you will be fine.

re: fine

I'm a licensed plumber in OK. I think you'll fine with the propane heater. I have 3 hanging, radiant propane fired heaters in my hangar and have never had any problems. There's plenty of air leakage all over the place in a hangar.
The only problem you're going to have is, as the hangar gets warm, (remember, heat rises) the ceiling will start sweating and before you know it, it'll start raining on you. From the ceiling.:)

Marshall Alexander

Procom - Northern Tools

Andy,

I have one in my 900 sq ft garage(hangar) to use during winter building sessions. Mine is a 36,000(38,000) btu ventless natural gas model. My garage is drywalled and insolated with a gas line branched off the house to it. I never taken it past the second setting and leave it on pilot when not working in the garage. They do make a LP model if I remember. I have small gaps at the bottom of my overhead doors but I do leave a window cracked while in the garage just in case. I live about 150 miles south of Dayton.

Whatever you use it would be best if you can cover the ceiling to keep down the heat loss. Like Marshall said plastic might not be the best product for that. Maybe some type of cheap 4 X 8 sheet material.