cccjbr6

Well Known Member
I have heard that to avoid the expense of adding a certified radio like a Garmin 430W to a panel with a G3X, some are mounting a Garmin handheld like an Aera with a WAAS engine to enable them to shoot GPS approaches. Is it legal in experimentals to shoot a GPS approach with such a setup in IMC?

I have heard that to avoid the expense of adding a certified radio like a Garmin 430W to a panel with a G3X, some are mounting a Garmin handheld like an Aera with a WAAS engine to enable them to shoot GPS approaches. Is it legal in experimentals to shoot a GPS approach with such a setup in IMC?

Simply no.

in an emergency

I am studying for my IFR and in one of the standard FAA books, if I remember right, I think in the 2013 AIM, it did mention that GPS systems, like the Area series, with the signal integrity verification feature can be used in an emergency, even though it is still illegal to use for "normal" IFR.

In case of Mayday

Essentially, in a bona-fide Emergency, you can break any and as many FARS as you need to be able to safely conclude the flight.

You obviously need to be prepared to justify your actions, if requested by the administrator.

In response to those responses above that said in one word: no,.......
I have a much more elaborate response for you: No, no and more no.

Ask that person to show you a handheld waas GPS that has the GPS approach databases loaded in it.

Last edited:
Ask that person to show you a handheld waas GPS that has the GPS approach loaded in it.

Depending on the GPS, it's possible. For example, I can manually plug in the fixes for the RNAV 34 approach at KSGS into Foreflight; it will happily show them and away I go. I even tried this with a safety pilot once and it worked sort of ok in clear weather. However...