Flying Scotsman

Well Known Member
Anybody have a suggestion for a good, cheap "stand" for supporting the tail (-A model) while I crawl back in there to run some wires/static lines/etc.? I'm thinking of something like a jack stand with a threaded rod to go into the tiedown? Wonder if HF or HD or someplace might have something tall enough I could use or modify...

I have nightmares of being in the tail section and the plane tipping up and having the tail crash down! :)

Yeah, yeah...I know...not a problem for a tail-dragger LOL! But then all the blood rushes to your head! :)

TIA!

Steve-a-reno

tail support

This is what I use. but I make darn sure the main tires are well chocked.
("Don't try this at home" disclaimer...I am a trained professional...)
It's a 4x4 post that the tie down ring rests on and a fuselage cradle.
Put a large platform on the bottom of the 4x4 post t make sure it stays put.

s6pvo1.jpg

Would it not be easier to "support the nose" and put the tail on / close to the ground?

Not with the engine on, I don't think...that worked just fine when there was no 300+ pounds up front (and the whole thing was basically in TW configuration :) ), but that sounds hazardous at this point...

I'd still offer it as a suggestion since:
  1. It is easier to support, and secure, a "nosewheel" than the tail area...
  2. If you have it "stablised" without you in the tail, it sets more stable as you get in there.
  3. If the worst happens, and the support fails, if the tail support fails, you and the aircraft are at risk. If the nose support fails, I doubt either you or the aircraft would be harmed.
  4. As you rotate the aircraft back, it gets more and more balanced - most NW types can have the nose lifted by moderate pressure on the HS.

I just use a $10 sawhorse from Bunnings Hardware with a bit of foam rubber strapped around it. Put it under a bulkhead to avoid stressing the skin.