Rabidsnipe

Well I passed my Oral Exam and Practical Check ride this afternoon! What a feeling. I've been looking forward to this day for years! I'm now a certificated private pilot!! Woo hoo!

Anyways the winds were a little bit more than I would have liked for the ride but not anything I hadn't flown before. Really that ended up being the only thing he really commented on; cross wind landings. That and maybe the "soft field" wasn't quite as "soft" as he would've liked. Oh well; more to work on (like it never ends). Navigation, diversion, stalls, steep turns, ground reference, etc. Everything else was just peachy. So now what do I do? Get a complex rating? A tailwheel? Instrument? Whatever it is I do, I know I'll learn something and probably have a lot of fun.

Thanks Ken Coplan, Bryan Rudd, Glenn Crabtree, TJ Timmons, and my wonderful wife Jennifer for making this possible.

-Chase

PS - If I'm having this much fun having worked on this thing since January, I can't imagine the rush of emotions after flying a plane for the first time after working on it for years.

Last edited:
Congratulations!!

Now that's one of those "life's memorable moments" moments! Way to go!
Now, what's the plan 7, 8 or 12?
ps: I'm sure you'll be changing your bio here at VAF from student to ppl:)

Last edited:
Congrats! That is indeed one of the little moments in life that you will never forget. I'll never forget the smile on my DE's face when he added up my flight hours before I took my checkride and came up with 40.3 - and it was a 0.6 flight from home base to the DE's airport for the checkride...

Way to go!!!

Congrats. This is a huge accomplishment and you should be proud. As Mike said, "now the learning begins."

Don't stop though. Take a couple of weeks off and start in on that Instrument ticket. The longer you wait the less likely you will continue.

Again, way to go. Enjoy and fly safe.

Congrats on a well done job, Chase!