LAMPSguy

Well Known Member
General opinion for you "crusty" guys who have spent time being current and non-current, proficient and lost proficiency, etc.

I am a helicopter pilot, 1000's of hours in whirly birds, only a few hundred in FW scattered over 20 years. I am also in the Navy so I know that I cannot start building for at least a year. I have some $ in a separate account saved to start a build. I have the chance to get in on a partnership where the hourly flying cost will be fairly low. Question is: What would "serve me best", spending $100/hour on a cherokee six gaining flying proficiency and having fun flying, or saving that $100/hour towards a build? I fly for work, so I can mostly get my flying "fix" through work.

Unless there are any RV owners that would take my money in the Jacksonville area:rolleyes:

I would save the money and just budget for a good amount of training in a RV towards the end of your build.

With the exception of an hour of transition training my wife gave me for my birthday and a wonderful ride provided by another VAF member, I haven't flown for quite a while. I'm planning to spend a good chunk of change right before I finish the plane for 10+ hours (however much it takes) of flight training (hopefully all in an RV).

Save the money for the build. With your egg beater experience and a few hundred on fixed wings, I wouldn't bother with fixed wing flying until you have your plane built. You never know how long the build is going to take. It's better to have 10 hours of flying in a few weeks than 100 over the years.

With your experience in the fling wing world, just flip categories and ask yourself the same scenario. I'm sure you would think the same of a high time fixed wing guy building a helicopter....that's a scary thought on it's own mind you! :D

I might do it if they paid ME 100/hr to fly the C6. Kind of a waste of good fuel and a good engine. Just kidding....sorta.