jimevison

The GNS430 installation manual has a drawing of the mounting rack showing the D Sub connectors held in place with C shaped retainers. Part number 125-00045 for the larger and 125-00046 for the smaller D Subs. I want to avoid having to reach behind the panel and locate a locknut any time I have to remove one of these connectors. Can anyone point me to a source of these retainers or suggest an alternative?

I am no expert but I believe the c shaped retainers you describe are threaded. There would be no need for a lock nut behind them. You access the screw through the front of the tray preferably with a LONG screw driver.

I am no expert but I believe the c shaped retainers you describe are threaded. There would be no need for a lock nut behind them. You access the screw through the front of the tray preferably with a LONG screw driver.

You're right, they're threaded allowing the D Sub connector to be screwed in from the front of the rack. I've not been able to find them through my usual sources - Stein, Mouser, McMaster etc. Any ideas on where to locate these would be appreciated.

You're right, they're threaded allowing the D Sub connector to be screwed in from the front of the rack. I've not been able to find them through my usual sources - Stein, Mouser, McMaster etc. Any ideas on where to locate these would be appreciated.

They are made by Glenair and the only place I could locate them was the "Mouser equivalent" store in the UK

http://az.rsdelivers.com/catalogue/category/d-subminiature/3473.aspx?range=309

However I'm sure they would be cheaper than Garmin's price....:)

Perhaps Stein could stock them?

GNS 430 Installation

My hat is off to Stein! These parts are not in their catalog but they found some in a drawer. These folks can always be relied on to go the extra mile.

Great customer service!

They are made by Glenair and the only place I could locate them was the "Mouser equivalent" store in the UK