StuartAberdein

I'm New Here
I am thinking of buying an RV-6 or RV-7. Two questions..

1. Would an RV-6 or RV-7 be suitable for glider towing?

2. Our field is quite rough grass. How well would an RV-6 or 7 handle this. The wheels look a bit small. Can they be modified to take larger wheels?

Thanks.

1) Check the FAR's on glider towing by experimentals. I seem to recall that it is prohibited.

2) The small wheels make for a rough ride on a rough field. Once upon a time, Van's prototyped mounting larger wheels, but nothing came of that...

Definately not

Although it might be a suitable plane, the operating limitations specifically prohibit it by default.
You might be about to get a new set issued for specific testing purposes but I am no expert here.
Best,
Kahuna

Glider towing and intentional parachute jumping are specifically prohibited for amateur-built aircraft. Exceptions can be petitioned for to the local FSDO. I know of instances where parachute jumping has been approved for suitable aircraft, but I don't know of any glider towing approvals.
BTW Now that I am retired, my login shows up as "ANN" since I am logged on from the home computer. Haven't figured out how to change this yet.
Mel...DAR

Aside from the legal stuff

The stall speed of the RV is 15+ mph higher than the tugs usually used. Towing at a comfortable speed for an RV would be getting towards the upper end of the envelope for most Schweitzers and other ships with low L/D.

Also I would not subject my RV to the punishment of a rough field on a daily a basis eigher.

Pawnees seem to be going for a song and would be much better suited for your mission. Good luck.