jweaver

I'm New Here
Good Afternoon,

This is my first RV post, and if I go through with the build (I want too) im sure it will not be the last. Im a 100 hour pilot tired of renting already. I cannot get the plane for the entire weekend for cross country flights and I also have been flying aerobatics (with instructor) in training for IAC basic and sportsman. Wife says I can only own one plane, so I do not want to by a spam can for cross country that cannot do aerobatics, or buy an aerobatic plane that does not go cross country.

I have been looking to sell my 600hp turbo car to start the build. I have experience in building engines as a hobby.

My questions are on vendors and costs vs. the vans site calculator cost.
I am willing to buy an older engine thats out of service time and rebuild.. if it will save money, buy refurbished props or used avionics that are tested.

My questions are around how much I could save over the vans calculator if I build with refurbished (factory or reputable shop) parts? I am also really trying to find a list/websites of places that sell props refurbished vs. new or high mile engines that are good canidates for rebuilds

I am looking at doing an RV8, with an inverted oil and fuel system, open to 160 or 180 hp lycoming, and an aerobatic prop.

Any help on vendors or reputable shops that sell parts at a lower cost than the vans calculators assumed new prices would help me move forward with the decision.

Thank you

Jason W

Welcome to VAF!!!!

Jason, welcome aboard.

Sounds like you have a good start on your decision process, and comming here is another good choice:D

You mentioned you are married, is she open to flying?? If so, you need to get her input on side by side, or tandem.

The 7, and the 8 are pretty close in performance, main difference is seating.

Many prior threads about this, maybe a good time to get used to the search function here.