smokyray

Well Known Member
Guys,
I have been flying the Bandit for 12 years now with a zero incidence horizontal stab. The plans in 89' called for a standard installation of zero but Van later recommended a 1/4" washer underneath the leading edge attach bolts of the horizontal stab for better flying characteristics.
Zero incidence works very well for STOL operations and slows down very well, but another RV4 grandpa told me he picked up 5 knots by adding the washers. He also stated he had better range of forward trim with a back seater. Anybody else had this experience? Curious...

Rob Ray

Rob,

When did Van's make the change to the plans? I started my project in 98 and to the best of my memory, it called for zero incidence. Also, if you raise the front of the HS what happens to the VS/HS interface?

Wing Incidence

Smokey - when you say zero incidence, with respect to what?

I am in the middle of trying to pluck up courage to drill the rear spar, so this is very timely. I have given up trying to set the wings with the 2.8" block and the canopy longerons at zero. I am having to lift the rear fuse by 1 degree with a plan to set the wing with the 2.8" block and then zero the HS. Otherwise I dont have enough overlap at the rear spar.

Getting everything set together and have the necessary clearance is bothersome to say the least!

.......so with respect to what?

Thanks

Builder's transit

Hi Steve,
If you can borrow a builder's transit, the rear spar drilling and very identical incidence of BOTH wings will just about be gauranteed.