iamtheari

Well Known Member
I have been flying my RV-14 for about 3 years and I’m finally getting around to doing the landing gear fairings. Mine is a tail dragger, so I’m working in section 46B of the plans. I’ve followed the plans as carefully as always, including my best understanding of the placement of the hinge that holds the gear leg fairing closed. But my end result leaves a bit of a gap in the trailing edge, rather than the hinge “holding the trailing edge closed with a slight amount of pressure” as the plans say on page 46B-12 step 1. For you tricycle RV-14A builders, it’s the same as page 46A-20 step 1.

It’s not a huge gap, but it’s visible. My options seem to be:

1. Build on, accept the gap
2. Figure out a way to fill the gap with epoxy/flox mixture
3. Order new piano hinges and match-drill to my gear leg fairings but with them located slightly more forward to pull the gap closed (about $17 in materials)
4. Order new piano hinges and gear leg fairings and rewind to page 46B-10 (about $350 in materials)

Any thoughts from others who have faced this problem in the past?

Well, Option 1 is viable, as that's not a highly visible area and most people won't ever notice it. But it obviously bothers you, or you wouldn't have posted it on here. Option 2 would seal that leg in, which would preclude you from removing the fairing to replace a brake line down the road. So it seems to me like Option 3 would be the easiest, fastest, and least expensive way to go.

Easy fix, no parts to order. Wax the hinge eyes. Wax the hinge pin.
Spread a bead of flox along the offending gap, both surfaces. Slip a piece of waxed 4Mil plastic sheet between the two sides. Assemble. Let it cure. Disassemble. Remove the plastic. Reassemble and sand the exterior to the shape you want. Easy peasy

From a drag standpoint, the thinner the trailing edge the better.
Aside from that, any of your suggested options are good if they satisfy you ( the thing that matters).