RudiGreyling

Well Known Member
Gents,

our local South African currency is strong (Big Walmart buyout happening here) and I want to buy a 430W new from the USA, to take advantage of it strong currency, but I have not had time to do all my research, so please assist.

I am new to the 430W, I want one in my RV10, so my queries...

1) Does a USA 430W come standard with a USA database or can you decide after purchase what to load? Aircraft spruce does not offer you to choose your database, I need one for South African Region.

2) What is the cost, process for updating and changing the 430W Database.

3) What else do I need to purchase that is not in the box, to get it working (Antennas, connectors, converters) ?

Sorry and thanks in advance.

Rudi

Last edited:
Hi Rudi..

...I just installed one in my -10 last December. It has three coax inputs, Comm, Nav/ILS/GS and GPS, so plan your antenna install accordingly.

The Bob Archer wingtip antenna that I used for Nav and ILS works great, mounted sufficiently far enough rearward, so that the strobe pulsation isn't an influence. It receives VOR's as many miles away as the lower, tail mounted cat's whisker, for the SL-30. You're going to love the 430W....it'll almost play, "O boereplaas, geboortegrond..:)"

I have dual comm antennae on the belly, side by side, between the gear legs and all is well. One for my SL-30 and the other for the 430W.

Don't know about Suid Afrika database....sorry.

Best,

Last edited:
1) Does a USA 430W come standard with a USA database or can you decide after purchase what to load? Aircraft spruce does not offer you to choose your database, I need one for South African Region.
My original 430 (I did the WAAS update later) came with a US database. If you buy your 430W from ACS it will almost certainly have a US database. There should be some info included with the unit offering one free database update. You might be able to convince them to make that update for your part of the world.