LouB

I'm New Here
Has anyone experimented with the Garmin 496/495 panel view. With the 5 time per second updating it is promising as a backup instrument if things go very wrong. How does the attitude indicator work? Is it a viable backup for a VFR equipped plane?

Thanks,
Lou

Wow dude, almost 3 years as a member, and you finally decide to post!!!!

Welcome, so to speak.

I have a buddy who has a panel mounted 496, works great.

As to the altitude function, it is derived from the GPS, accuracy isnt as good as a regular altimeter, but it is not subject to barometric fluctuations either.

Should be fine for VFR, as a backup, as long as you pay attention to what is going on out the window.

I use my virtual "6 pack" on my 196

Good for general VFR work, not so good for Touch and Go's- only Ground Speed. Good backup.

Lou,

I did some partial panel in real IMC using my 496 in panel view, and got out of the cloud I mistakenly got into without problems. But I am a well-trained IFR pilot, and did a lot of partial panel work during instrument training.

The 5 hertz update helps a lot, no doubts about that.

The GPS-derived attitude isn't there, it's a turn indicator really, and for partial panel it's good enough. There is no Attitude Indicator in the 496, that's why I refer to partial panel in this whole message!

Ciao, Luca

panel view

A friend and I , both IFR qualified, have tried the panel view in 195, 296 and 496 as sole reference for flight under the hood. The 195 was marginal and took huge effort to keep the airplane under control. The 296 and 496 were great; we found it easy to fly IFR without any other reference for 30 minutes. No undue fatigue. Our -8 has two EFIS's, each with battery backup and an ADI T&B instrument, also with battery back up. The 296 (rear seat) and 496 provide yet another level of redundancy with ample battery time to complete any reasonable flight. Now if you lose your GPS signal for any reason.......! Bill