npowell

Well Known Member
Help Please. I am torn between buying a used Garmin 396 and a used AvMap. I like the big, easy to read screen on the AvMap, but the 396 would fit my panel a little better and it has the WX potential. I would appreciate any advice from users of these two (have already read all the relevant posts).

One more question: is the WX really useable enought to be worth the $30 per month subscription?

thanks in advance for any advice.

Neal P.

RV-9A
Wings in process
Quickbuild fuse coming soon

I have the AvMap IV and really like it. Easy to use, VERY nice display and provides all the data for my EFIS and AP, just like it is supposed to. I am really frustrated that they don't have weather out, however. We saw it demoed at Ohskosh last year and have been promised WX for about two years.

Bob Kelly

Neal - I'm a big Lowrance fan, so for me as a VFR pilot I think you would find that neither the Garmin nor the EKP-IV provide anywhere near the features-per-dollar that one finds in the Lowrance 2000c.

Having said that, my brother flies with both a 296 and an EKP-IV in his airplane. The EKP is panel-mounted and drives the Trio autopilot. The Garmin is up on the glareshield and provides backup info. With this setup in mind I'll make the following comments:
1) Garmin user interface is much friendlier than that of the EKP
2) Garmin lasts a long, long time on internal batteries. The EKP also has internal batteries but that big screen sucks them dry in under an hour.
3) EKP display is simply fantastic, and is very readable with a bubble canopy. The Garmin has a little cardboard glareshield projecting out around the top and sides to render it more readable in the sunlight.
4) EKP "course predictor" function makes it very, very easy to fly direct to any given waypoint. This is a great tool.