jimevison

I plan on using this puck with a Skyview. The EFIS wants a 38,400 Baud rate yet the default rate on the 18X 5Hz is 19,200. Garmin has a configuration program which will change the Baud rate on the puck connected to a Serial port. Com ports are not so common and I don't have access to one. Does anyone know if the Skyview has the ability to change Baud rate of a GPS on the serial port. It appears to me that the chipset in the Garmin 18x 5Hz is the same as that in the Dynon SV-GPS-250 given their like specifications.

Jim

Does anyone know if the Skyview has the ability to change Baud rate of a GPS on the serial port.

Jim

Jim,

I use the Dynon SV-GPS-250 and it just works so I have no first-hand experience changing the GPS baudrate in my Dynon Skyview. However, I'm quite certain what you're asking is provided for in the Skyview firmware.

Note that you won't "change Baud rate of a GPS on the serial port". The baudrate being changed is the Skyview's serial port used to communicate with the GPS, not the baudrate of the GPS. I assume the latter is what you're asking as the former is not really feasible.

The Skyview Installation Guide addresses this on page 4-14 (in my Rev. F copy). You can download that document from Dynon's web site; let me know if you need a link to it.

Jim,

I use the Dynon SV-GPS-250 and it just works so I have no first-hand experience changing the GPS baudrate in my Dynon Skyview. However, I'm quite certain what you're asking is provided for in the Skyview firmware.

Note that you won't "change Baud rate of a GPS on the serial port". The baudrate being changed is the Skyview's serial port used to communicate with the GPS, not the baudrate of the GPS. I assume the latter is what you're asking as the former is not really feasible.

The Skyview Installation Guide addresses this on page 4-14 (in my Rev. F copy). You can download that document from Dynon's web site; let me know if you need a link to it.