s10sakota

Well Known Member
For those who are finished building, which took longer to build, the fuselage or the wings?

I've been working on these wings for almost three years now, although I did take some time off in the middle.

My fuselage and finish kit will arrive here next week and I'm wondering based on my time with the wings, what I can expect for build time with the rest of the plane.

The reason I ask is that although I LOVE building (this is my 3rd plane) I REALLY miss flying.

Today in Michigan we had the kind of weather where I could not stop looking up. I was dreaming of all the places I could go if I had an airplane.

I'm thinking of buying an older Cessna just for something to fly for the next few years. Yes it will slow down the RV progress slightly, but that's ok. As long as I have an airplane to fly, I don't particularly care what it is.

Hard to say as it depends on you!

Wings have lots more manual work to be done in terms of actual metal work, fuselage has more thinking with systems, wiring, FWF etc. Not to mention fiberglass! :)

I found the wings monotonous (flute, drill, deburr, dimple, lather, rinse, repeat), so they took a couple of years.

The fuselage (IMO) was interesting and took me about 6 months to go from crate arrival to canoe flipping.

Sure feel for you.

I wouldn't have started my RV-3B project if I didn't already have a capable airplane to fly. Sometimes it's time to build and sometimes it's time to fly.

Dave
P.S. Wings are taking longer than expected.

Last edited:
I totally agree about the wings being monotonous! I'm sick of looking at them! I think the fuselage would be a lot more fun just because that's the 'airplane' part.

For now, I'm excited to be riveting the bottom wing skins. Can't wait to pack these wings away :D