ve0kog

I'm New Here
Hi folks
I'm a new RV pilot (with a grin 😀) and while learning to fly it I ran into a fuel unporting effect.

I was in a full right rudder slip and at about 500 AGL the dynon HDX alerted about the fuel level.
It was a bit of an attention grabber because I was slipping with the "wrong" tank selected.

The engine did not quit and I don't know if the fuel was truly unported. but did not realize this can happen even with fairly full tanks.
Just wanted to share what the fuel levels looked like from the HDX data file

1727300941744.png

Oh yeah it will do that! I’ve done it a few times. I just select the tank that’s on the up side of the slip if I have the brain bytes available. I will say that it only happens to me if I’m aggressively slipping with a low fuel state. The engine will stumble.

I’m shocked that you could unport a tank with 12 gallons of fuel in a forward slip.
Are you sure your fuel level sensors are reading correctly?
One way to mitigate this from happening is to crab until you’re closer on final and then enter your slip. However, you need time to establish a stable approach so I’m not saying you did anything wrong.
Good learning experience. Thx for sharing.

Are you sure your fuel level sensors are reading correctly?
I think the sensors are reading low, but accurate when empty. They cap at 14 and 15 gal in the EMS profile when full. I'm glad the HDX alerted a little ahead of time. It was an audible alert "FUEL LEVEL" and probably something on the screen, but I wasn't looking at it.
i cancelled the slip and went around. When I glanced at the fuel gauges a few seconds later they were both in the green as if nothing happened.

I think the sensors are reading low, but accurate when empty. They cap at 14 and 15 gal in the EMS profile when full. I'm glad the HDX alerted a little ahead of time. It was an audible alert "FUEL LEVEL" and probably something on the screen, but I wasn't looking at it.