CharleyB

I'm New Here
I've had ongoing fuel vapor lock problems with my AFP injected 0-320 RV-6A. AFP recommended a fuel pump shroud. Aircraft Spruce offers a shroud advertised for Lycoming fuel pumps. The product looks good in the catalog, but I wonder about installation problems. Does anybody have any experience with it.

Charlie Brame
RV-6A N11CB

Yes, I currently have one on both my 10 and my 7. They aren't fun to install if the engine is already on the airplane, which sounds like yours is, but it is doable. I ran a duct with scat tube from the front baffling.

Vic

Purge Valve?

I've had ongoing fuel vapor lock problems with my AFP injected 0-320 RV-6A. AFP recommended a fuel pump shroud. Aircraft Spruce offers a shroud advertised for Lycoming fuel pumps. The product looks good in the catalog, but I wonder about installation problems. Does anybody have any experience with it.

Charlie Brame
RV-6A N11CB

Do you have a purge valve? I have been running AFP FI for a couple of years now and have never experienced any vapor lock problems. I consider the purge valve a requirement in TX, even had one on my carb'd version before I switched to FI. Without it you are definately subject to VL on a hot short turn.

FI purge valve

I do have a purge valve and regularly use it. I have few problems starting a hot engine after purging. My vapor lock problems show up after landing from a flight, and while taxiing out after a hot start.

Charlie

Charlie,
Have any photos of your engine compartment, in particular hose routing?