Rupester

Well Known Member
I need some ideas how to flare a 3/8" fuel line when there's only 1/2" of straight tubing available at the end. The Parker Rolo-flare requires 3/4" of straight length at the tubing end for its internal "clamp". Because I have a 90-degree bend close to the end, the radius plus the 3/8 ferrule/nut only leave me 1/2 of clear tube at the end. This is 3rd time I've fabbed this fuel line (I finally have all bends PURRfect)... but now I have this flare problem.
Anyone got any slick ideas?

Flare first and then bend? I had some pretty tight bends and flairs on my electric fuel pump installation too. How about a right angle or 45 degree fitting, or a "Banjo" fitting. Check out Andair.

Anyway, don't compromise your quality standards on fuel line fabrication. In my humble opinion, this is one of if not the most critical parts of the fabrication process for our planes...

You could use...

..one of these fittings to do the 90 degree bend.

An "AN Male to AN Female 90 Degree Swivel Coupling"

AAACPL903.jpg

It's not an AN part, so it comes from race car supply houses.

Last edited:
Parker flaring tool.