Not specifically noted in the article, but certainly a factor, is the reporting of the accident rate of any kit.

To be fair to a company designing and selling a kit, that rate can be skewed by mishaps the result of deviations from the original design and also by reckless pilot activities.

Neither of these accident factors is related to the basic design of a particular kit airplane.

This has be a concern of all. Over zealous regulators will look at the situation and conclude something has to be done about "these kit airplanes".

The problem of a high accident rate is not the kits, its the pilots building and flying them.

Like Pierre & David said...

"If it ain't broke, why fix it"?:D
My tour last week of both Vans & Oregon Aero confirmed my belief that they certainly know more of aeronautical design and test than this 'ol boy ever will.
PS As a former quality engineer, I found it very refreshing that ANY employee working on the various phases of the kit, can shut down the line if they feel anything is amiss. From my personal experience, I am the one who has made the mistakes and corrected them after oversight by a tech counselor. Just my .02

This cracked me up:
Dan Horton says:

August 19, 2011 at 07:35

Mac,
At what point does modifying our Sport Aviation magazine create a whole new publication, one which no longer reflects the values of the organization’s core group?

I've said it before, I do not like the direction the EAA is taking. They should have hired a homebuilder to head up their magazine, someone like Marc Cook.

This cracked me up:

I've said it before, I do not like the direction the EAA is taking. They should have hired a homebuilder to head up their magazine, someone like Marc Cook.

A different observation. I like what Mac writes. Always have. I have no problem with it.

L.Adamson --- RV6A

This cracked me up:

Dan Horton says:

August 19, 2011 at 07:35

Mac,