dan carley

Well Known Member
i would like to know which app do most people
foreflight or Garmins pilot not sure which one is better.

thanks
dan carley

Wing X, FlyQ, iFly for me

You will get a bunch of opinions on this one! Everyone likes the one they are using.

R.

adsb

The ADSB In solution you pick will dictate which moving map solution you use on your iPad or Android.

I've been running Pilot for several years now and was going to add a GDL39 for the AHARS and ADSB-B in info. However, my planned upgrade to Skyview and the teaming with Foreflight drove me to Stratus and FF.

I've only used FF a little bit, but I see no real difference for the type of flying I do. 6 of one, half dozen of the other.

The ADSB In solution you pick will dictate which moving map solution you use on your iPad or Android.

+1
WingX works with many ADSB-in boxes.
Garmin with Garmin
Foreflight with Stratus (and now, Dynon)

BTW if you hold a CFI, WingX is free. (But I chose WingX even when I had to pay)

My wife uses them in the backseat; we have been alternating between ForeFlight and Garmin apps every year; we now have 2 complete cycles. She seems to prefer Garmin; I don't like either.

I guess ForeFlight is fine, but here's why I use Garmin Pilot instead. ForeFlight presents you a "sectional". A year ago, I planned a trip from Atlanta up to Milwaukee. I used AOPA's flight planner which also uses a "sectional" like ForeFlight. Then I double checked the route on Garmin Pilot. I discovered I had planned myself thru 5 class D airports.:eek: Never saw the darned things,---reason, sectionals are just so "busy". Also trying to find intersections and/or waypoints on a sectional presentation is next to impossible. (These come in real handy while hugging the shoreline of Lake Michigan right on the edge of or just below Chicago O'Hare's class B.) On Garmin Pilot, this is a snap. Very easy to see.