java

Well Known Member
I live in Calgary. If you don't want to fly in/over mountains, you pretty much limit yourself to 180 degrees of the compass. At the same time, I am a relatively conservative pilot and I believe in learning from those who have gone before me. I found an excellent CFI with loads of mountain experience and we went up today (after much book learning on my part in advance).

Here is "Angel" waiting for us in front of the hangar...
IMG_0723.jpg

This is Castle Mountain. We tucked in behind it into a horseshoe canyon for me to learn a canyon turn...
IMG_0727.jpg

This is Mount Assiniboine. First pic we were just below summit level, and the second we climbed a bit...
IMG_0734.jpg

IMG_0741.jpg

I wish I could have taken more pics, but I was too busy flying and in awe of the scenery! I've flown the flatlands, and love it, but there is nothing like flying through the Rockies. There is risk associated with flying in the mountains. Please seek competent instruction to learn what you need to know (and yes... there are things to learn that aren't in the books).

As an aside, my instructor had never flown in an RV. He has flown many types, and was very happy with my 6 and it's performance for mountain flying. We could still climb at 600fpm+ sustained, two up and lots of fuel, at 10k ft. He said it made it easy compared to a 172 ;).

JV,

As long as you leave yourself an out and are aware of the weather etc. mountain flying is awesome. I did a trip last year (was written up here on VAF) through your area and flew from High River over to PG right across the parks area and the scenery was magnificent.

cheers,
greg

Ahhh, such gorgeous pix.

I used to come to Calgary each year in winter for two weeks of ice climbing and back country skiing traverse. I know some of the mountains and they are so gorgeous. These pix brought lots of good memories from the area, many thanks.