almost

I'm New Here
Hello Friends,
I'm new here. Just got my private certificate about 2 months ago, and working on instrument. I'd like to find a good project to work on wroth my son and I'm leaning towards the RV 8. Having never flown or even sat in one, I was hoping I could find someone with an RV 8 here in Central Florida who might be willing to take me on a flight at my expense so I can see what its characteristics are like. Although I would want to sit in the front on the ground to see how it feels, I would not plan on flying. I would ride in the back.
The other thing want to do, is find someone in central Florida who is building any of the RV's and who would like some free labor. I would love to get hands on in the building process. I'm a diesel mechanic by trade, so it's not like having a complete idiot help on your aircraft. That said, I would bring a humble and teachable attitude in the air and in the shop. I will be the first to say that I don't know it all.
Thanks to anyone who can help.

Welcome

Welcome Joshua.
You're doing it right.
Join EAA and find the local chapter. There you will find many willing pilots and builders.
Careful. It's the most expensive airplane ride you'll ever take. :D

Welcome to VAF!

Hello Friends,
I'm new here. Just got my private certificate about 2 months ago,

Joshua,
welcome.gif
aboard the good ship VAF.

Congrats on the new ticket.

I bet you will have your ride in no time! One thing I wished I had done before building, is go to AirVenture in Oshkosh and spend as many days as you can. They have so many workshops going on all the time on everything from metal work to avionics. You can just wonder around from one to the next. I finally went last year when most my building was done and realized how much I would have benefited going earlier. Would be a great Father Son get away!

Hello Friends,