roadrunner20

Well Known Member
I went to my local Sunoco station today for my 3xweekly supply of 93UL only to see a new sticker declaring the 10% ethanol blend. I've been using this station for my UL refills for the last 2 years.

I had a discussion with the station manager on this new declaration. She told me they ran the existing tank dry so they could fill it with the new blend. She also stated the entire state will be jumping on the 10% ethanol bandwagon.

I did a quick check of the other locals options.
I knew Hess had used ethanol. To my surprise, Shell too.

I'll be checking BP and Chevron tomorrow.

Is there any non-ethanol distributors out there?

Just when I thought I would start using MoGas I noticed those stickers showing.

It upsets me to no end that they keep increasing the price of gas but when they add ethanol AND rise the price it really gets me. More so since that stuff lowers the MPG and causes your fuel tank to rust, if you have a metal tank.

More mundane than aero engines but..

I am concerned about the ethanol too, but not for aero engines. I have a classic 2-stroke motorcycle (RZ500) that does not like variations in fuel. I have a close relationship with many GP replica 2-stroke owners and I know of 4 engines meltdowns over the last few years that have been attributed to fuel content. The first indications were fuels heavily laden with MTBE, which again will lean the mixture on a plain carb. We would get the bikes running "spot-on" at our shop (out in the "wilderness" of western NC where gas is gas and the sheep are scared ;)) and then ship the bikes to a big metro area that mandates a special petrol coctail and BOOM... Melted piston crowns, scored pistons and bores.

I imagine we will be able to compensate for the ethanol, but these bikes are finicky and becoming expensive to break. The Non-RV 2-stroke powered aviators will need to pay attention too. :eek:

Last edited:
Georgia Also