Stewie

Well Known Member
Patron
Hi all-
I am trying to determine where to position my throttle quadrant. I am 6'2" and have moved the seat/roll bar back 1", lowered the cushion and raised the bottom of the instrument panel , but still find my knees hitting where most people mount their quadrants. Mounting the quadrant on the floor as shown in the picture below feels quite comfortable and natural, and no interference with my legs:

DSCF6367_zps15e0a0c3.jpg

The only potential problem I foresee is routing the cables, either diagonally into the center tunnel (best?) or up along the fuse side exiting above the left pedal bracket. I am a first time builder and don't know whether routing the cables like this is practical or not. Any feedback or opinions would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!
Eric

RV-4 Throttle quadrant

I'm 6'1" and 200 lbs, and I think you will want to stay away from the floor. You need all the foot room possible for getting in and out. I have mine mounted on the L/H side, very close to the skin. My recomendation is keep it as far forward as you can, as the bulkhead for the spar carry through will be against your wrist at idle. I routed my cables straight forward, then up over the left pedal and down the center of the tunnel. My controls are very smooth. Send me a PM with a regular E-mail and I can send you good pictures. There is no way my knee gets in the throttle.

I am 5 11 and I am running into the same problem. My solution is to still mount the quadrant in the ?standard? location however, install a throttle lever that is angled at approximately 45 deg. It is also longer. I noticed that the further aft the quadrant is, the less interference with my leg/knee because I can rest my leg on the bulkhead that is under the instrument panel.

Personally I would not place the quadrant at that location. It will be difficult to get in and out of the aircraft. It will also be a potential interference with the fuel line that go to the left fuel tank.