Cbflyn

I am looking to purchase a 4 sometime this year:) and have a question for you flying owners and former owners. Being a conservative driver I like to flight plan block to block with both airspeed and a fuel burn that leaves a margin. Would 150 KTS and 9 gals an hour be good numbers for a 150, 160 HP RV4? I know some 4's are faster than others, some fly powered back and some fly balls to the wall, just looking for a good rule of thumb. (daydreaming with various trips in mind :rolleyes:) Any insight on the 0360 would be great also.
Thanks in advance:)

I use duat.com

I use the flight planner in www.duat.com. I have the following numbers in the aircraft profile

Climb - 1200 fpm, 14.5 gph, 100kts
Cruise - 7.8 gph, 155 kts
Descent - 7.8 gph, 165 kts

Now these numbers are not perfect but the Duat flight plan times are right on the money every time (winds included). The fuel comp is usually a little pessimistic but that is the way I like it. I like being pleasently surprised with more fuel remaining. The other option doesn't appeal to me much. BTW I normally cruise at 11.5k or 12.5k and the FF guage reads between 6.8 and 7.2. You will enjoy your -4 but it is small. If you could afford it, go with the -8. I wish I had one.

They're pretty good numbers...

...and what I see in my buddy's 160 HP -4 but you won't burn that much gas at 150 K. Probably closer to 8 GPH or a little over,

Best,

Thanks Pierre, I like the fuel burn figured on the high side. I'm old school I guess, "you only have too much fuel when your on fire!" works for me. As for speed I was hoping for 150K block to block, my sweet spot.
Charlie Thank you for the insight also and the flight numbers. The 8 is nice, very nice, but I am limited by my funds not my imagination! A rocket would be nice,,,,,,,,

Chuck,