boomer

Well Known Member
At age 59 I have never taken an FAA flight physical. Since one can fly Light Sport without one -- unless one has failed a physical -- I was wondering if there was any place to ask some specific questions about whether my health issues (minor, I hope <G>) would let me pass. Is there a web site (other than the FAA which is very general, as far as I can tell) or maybe a FAA certified doctor who can tell me if I would pass with:

1. Hypertension which is under control with medicine.
2. Some loss of hearing which does not require a hearing aid.

I'd rather know in advance and go the Light Sport route rather than fail a physical.

Thanks.

-John

I'm No Doctor....

John,

I'm no doctor, so you definitely don't want to take this as advice, but it might lesson any anxiety (before you do hear from one) to know that I fly with a Second Class medical and have:

1) Hypertension that is under control with medication

and

2) Mild hearing loss (from noisy airplanes for 35 years!) that doesn't require a hearing aid....

Good luck!

Paul

John, its been awhile since I looked but poke around on AOPAs website. They used to have some pages devoted to what you are looking for and links to articles about what is acceptable and not. EAA may also have some info but when I looked AOPAs links were better.

You could also schedule a 'consultation' with friendly AME and do a dry run. That way you would be absolutely sure!

Pilot Medical Solutions specializes in helping folk get their medicals through. They have ex-FAA folks and doctors on staff, and they basically help you get doctor / AME evaluations that they know will pass. Can't say that I've used their services, but the one person who has thought that it was perhaps overpriced, but it would have taken a long time to get his medical otherwise.

They might be willing to help you with determining if you can get a medical, or what you would need to do / what your doctor or AME needs to say to pass.