pierre smith

Well Known Member
To you CFI's out there: Have any of you soloed a student pilot in an RV-6A or -7A?

Or to any student pilot RV flyers: Did you solo your RV? I have a prospective buyer that would need to be soloed by me. He has 70 hours or so in a Skylane and flies the RV really well for a first timer.

Thanks,

Hi Pierre,
I am pretty sure Bernie from the Ohio Valley Rvators soloed his grandson in his 7A.
I will look for his email and send it to you

Checkride?

If he has 70 hours in a skylane, why doesn't he just take the checkride and then you just do the transition training?

If he has 70 hours in a skylane, why doesn't he just take the checkride and then you just do the transition training?
Because he wants to buy the RV to save himself paying $$$$/h for the Skylane?

Apparently he's much further away from the checkride than just taking a checkride.

I'm interested in the answer to this question as well. I'm a low-time student pilot (currently not flying due to being a full time law student) and intend to get into flying more serious once I'm gainfully employed (I start next fall and would probably be in a position to start flying seriously in 6-months to a year from then). I am pretty well set on buying a flying RV (and building eventually) and I think would prefer to buy an RV early and take instruction in that rather than pouring a lot of money into renting Cessna (also, even as a student pilot I can appreciate the difference between a delightful sport plane and something with less inspiring handling characteristics).

Because he wants to buy the RV to save himself paying $$$$/h for the Skylane?

Apparently he's much further away from the checkride than just taking a checkride.