bsacks05

Well Known Member
First flight of RV9 N659DB took place at Perry-Houston Co. Airport (PXE) in central Georgia. I am a low time pilot (<200 hrs) with less than 20 hrs T/W experience but this plane took care of me very well. Climb rate was incredible! Control response immediate, and rock solid stability. It was a short flight as I saw some lightning and rain showers in the distance. It took me three attempts to land because she just didn't want to slow down! I learned a lot about airspeed management yesterday!!! I can tell that this plane will be a patient and forgiving teacher and look forward to many hours learning the ways of the RV9!
Pictured with me after the flight is my daughter Diana and son Bruce
rvgrin13ha.jpg

Congrats Bruce. You need to fly it up to Blairsville, GA and show it off to us builders needing inspiration when you fly off the Phase 1.

Way to go

Great job and congrats on the flight. I only had 27 hours TW time when I flew my 7. I learned very quickly that you have to nail the approach speed or you will float FAR down the runway. Fortunately the RV is a great plane and will treat you nicely. You will adapt quickly.

Good luck on your Phase I. Fly often, fly safely.

awesome, another RV in Georgia!

Athens is just a heart beat away! Come see us

I passed 70 hours yesterday - what a blast

First Flight - TW-9

Very Cool Bruce!!!

Keep us informed on how the TW-9 handles - I'm planning one myself.

Scott Harding
RV-9 Slow building wings
Sugar Land, TX

N659DB