jetjok

Well Known Member
In response to the discussion on a previous thread, I thought that I would pose a question to those with the experience of testing various aircraft.
Lets say that I am a builder who is intent on making the initial flight of my RV. Assuming that I have all the necessary experience i.e.: qualified in RV's, tail wheel, etc., but have never done a first flight, where does one go to glean information on developing a proper test program?
While I have not checked Van's web site, or looked at a recent builders manual, I assume that there is likely some info there. However, is there another readily available source such as EAA, etc?
Barring that, what do the "pro's" do to develop the initial test cards?
Maybe this has been covered in a prior posting, but with new RV's being flown for the first time each week, it might be good to keep the information in the forefront.

Mark...

As you say there is some info out there.

I am speaking from a UK point of view, where the "requirements" are somewhat different e.g. our "Phase 1" is only 5 hrs, although it often takes nearer 10...

My advice would be do not get over involved in being a "test" pilot. Unless your RV is markedly different to what Vans design, little of what you do will be truly innovative. Keep in sight the basics - it is amateur build, ensure the engine works, and keeps working (inspect after flight)... and approach each area as if something will fail.

Whilst your ambition to do the test flying is understandable, if you get someone who is truly experienced in RV's, especially your model, to do some of the flying (not sure if that is allowed in the US? in the UK we can nominate >1 test pilot), their observations will save you a lot of time / effort diagnosing any issues.

Andy

FAA AC 90-89A!